Spinach-Bacon Pasta

Wednesday is my ‘long’ day, I class from 8:30am until 4:00pm, then again from 7:00pm to 10:00pm. So for dinners on Wednesday I tend to make meals that come together quickly.

Last night I made “Spinach-Bacon Penne” from Allrecipes.com. We had bacon pre-cooked in the refrigerator from the weekend, so that saved a lot on time. I had never had this recipe before, and at first I wasn’t crazy about it, but by the time I finished my bowl I was loving it- I even went back for seconds!!

The original recipe (on Allrecipes.com) explained a new method for wilting the spinach, where you put the spinach in the strainer then drain the pasta over it. I did this to try it out, but the spinach did not wilt as much as would have wanted it to.

Another good thing about this recipe is that it is budget friendly! It cost a total of $6.50   (Bacon= $2, Tomatoes= $1.50, Penne= $1, Spinach= $1.50, Garlic= $0.50)… and that’s only if you don’t have some of the ingredients on hand. I lucked out, I had the tomatoes and the garlic.

One response

Leave a Reply

