Maple-Apple Crumble

The other night I was NOT in the mood to cook dinner because I recently had some Wisdom Teeth pulled out. This is really strange for me because I love cooking! It’s my favorite part of the day!! So instead of making something for dinner, my boyfriend and I ordered Swiss Chalet and made some french fries. Not fun for me, since I had to rip my wings into small little pieces in order to eat them, which was messy, sticky, and cold by the time I got to eat them.

After eating dinner, I decided to make something for dessert. I had some crumble toppings in the freezer from the other week so I made a Maple-Apple Crumble. I am sure I’m not the first person to make this, but I just thought of it on the spot because we didn’t have any other berries or anything I could add to the crumble, and the maple syrup in the frige was teasing me. It is really easy to make (I mean, a 9 year old could master it), I will post the recipe below… but remember that I am only cooking for two people! So you may need to rescale the amounts.

The Maple-Apple Crumble came out DELICIOUS, and I served it with ice cream (Which feels amazing when you have teeth taken out!).

Ing:

2 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup maple syrup

Dir:

Toss apples in brown sugar, and pour them into a small round buttered baking dish (mine holds about 1 litre of liquid), then pour the maple syrup over the apples. Spread topping mixture over the apples, bake at 375 for approx 20 minutes, until the apples are soft and bubbly and the top is golden brown.

I had pre-made crumble topping, but if you don’t it’s just brown sugar, butter, oats, and flour (mix dry and then cut in the butter to form small chunks).

Leave a Reply

